Miracle of the Subconscious

I was drinking coffee at Barnes and Noble yesterday and I started thinking about what I could write about in book 5. I’m busy reviewing the first draft of my fourth mystery novel, tentatively titled “In Search Of The Black Orchid.” There’s not much imagination happening during the draft reviews, just hard work. That’s probably why I started thinking about book 5.
The pattern I’ve been following is – write a Stephen Moorehouse mystery, then write a completely different book, followed by another Stephen Moorehouse novel. It’s quite easy to slip back into the Stephen Moorehouse mode since I know and understand those characters so well. I don’t have to spend the first few months learning about them, like I have to do when writing a brand new book.
I thought if I could come up with an interesting plot, I already knew where the location was going to be since it was hinted at in the end of The Peacock Prophecy; I would seriously consider another Stephen Moorehouse novel. Well, the miracle of the subconscious kicked in last night while I slept and somehow I came up with 80% of the plot and 80% of the characters. It was the most amazing thing to experience because these are not dreams. We’ve all experienced dreams that seemed so brilliant while we were having them, but upon waking and thinking about them, they made no sense at all. What I experienced last night was a solution to an unresolved problem. I woke up ready to start outlining this book!
But this has happened many times in the past, just no so completely. I’ve been able to wake up with solutions to plot issues or dead-ends I’ve written myself into. It’s like I’ve dreamed the solutions and then been able to remember them.
I’ve got about two months of revisions ahead of me with “In Search of the Black Orchid”, but during that time I hope to be able to outline my new Stephen Moorehouse mystery so I can start writing as soon as possible.

About Hurricane River Publishing

I write mystery novels. The Butterfly Conspiracy and The Peacock Prophecy, feature Stepehn Moorehouse, his Uncle Phillip Kahle, and Stephen's romantic interest, Jeanette St. Jacques. The Maze At Four Chimneys features John Barrington and his family. The Black Orchid Mystery features a detective named Archie Archibald. This book takes place in Vero Beach, Florida but has ties to John Barrington from The Maze book. My latest book, Menagerie of Broken Dreams, brings back Stephen Moorhouse and his uncle Philip, as they travel to central Florida to make a movie. Things don't go as planned when they meet Doctor Merryweather and his run down roadside attraction the Menagerie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

