The Writing Game

One of the unexpected benefits of writing novels is the wonderful people you meet.  Writing is a solitary experience, at least it is for me, but going around to book signings, writing conferences, etc. has provided me with an opportunity to meet many nice people.   I write my mystery novels to entertain myself.  It’s quite a challenge to juggle several plot threads and a handful of characters from page 1 to page 350 so when someone is kind enough to come up to me and tell me how much they have enjoyed one of my books, it really makes my day.

     At a recent book signing at Book World in Escanaba, Michigan I met a very gifted photographer named Mike Hall.  I had seen some of his work when it was shared with me by a mutual friend and I was very impressed.  Then Mike showed up at my book signing and he shot some pictures of me at the event.   There is quite a difference between someone who “takes pictures” and a “professional photographer”.  Believe me, Mike is a professional photographer.   You should google “Black Iris Studio” to learn more about him.

About Hurricane River Publishing

I write mystery novels. The Butterfly Conspiracy and The Peacock Prophecy, feature Stepehn Moorehouse, his Uncle Phillip Kahle, and Stephen's romantic interest, Jeanette St. Jacques. The Maze At Four Chimneys features John Barrington and his family. The Black Orchid Mystery features a detective named Archie Archibald. This book takes place in Vero Beach, Florida but has ties to John Barrington from The Maze book. My latest book, Menagerie of Broken Dreams, brings back Stephen Moorhouse and his uncle Philip, as they travel to central Florida to make a movie. Things don't go as planned when they meet Doctor Merryweather and his run down roadside attraction the Menagerie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Writing Game

  1. Michael Hall says:

    I am humbled by your kind words, Jim! It was a pleasure meeting you and I hope to see you again soon! Once I heard about your dock that you sit on while writing I instantly had a vision of me, in a boat, taking photos while you sit and do what you do best! Especially if it involves a sunrise or sunset.

Leave a Reply

